Monday, 5 December 2016

Monday 5th December

The Yellow-browed Warbler was still vocal around the Entrance Bushes this morning with two Velvet Scoter and a Great Northern Diver remaining offshore. A Black-necked Grebe off the saltmarsh was a new arrival with 147 Grey Plover, 106 Knot, eight Greenshank and the two Slavonian Grebe also in the estuary.

Sunday, 4 December 2016

Sunday 4th December

The fifth Yellow-browed Warbler of the autumn was a surprise arrival, although a new bird was also found in Exmouth today. It was vocal and mobile around the Entrance Bushes where there were also four Chiffchaff and the Siberian Chiffchaff. Elsewhere the two Velvet Scoter were still offshore with five Red-throated and a Great Northern Diver whilst wader counts from the estuary increased slightly with 1600 Dunlin, 157 Grey Plover, 144 Bar-tailed Godwit, 81 Knot and six Greenshank with the two Slavonian Grebe also still present.

Saturday, 3 December 2016

Saturday 3rd December

Offshore there were five Velvet Scoter, three mobile and two within the raft of 90 Common Scoter, with 580+ Guillemot, six Red-throated and two Great Northern Diver flying south. elsewhere a tristis Chiffchaff was in the Entrance Bushes, a Fieldfare remains along the Back Path, three Shoveler were on the Main Pond, the Bonaparte's Gull was off Warren Point and counts from the estuary included 307 Wigeon, 198 Brent Geese, 195 Teal, 115 Grey Plover, 88 Knot, 60+ Bar-tailed Godwit, 23 Ringed Plover, two Slavonian Grebe and a Pintail.

Friday, 2 December 2016

Friday 2nd December

Two Velvet Scoter were off John's Watch, presumed to be the same birds that were present briefly last weekend.

Thursday, 1 December 2016

Thursday 1st December

The two Slavonian Grebe were off Cockwood but no other news was received.

Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Wednesday 30th November

The Bonaparte's Gull was off Warren Point in the afternoon but no other news was received.

Tuesday, 29 November 2016

Tuesday 29th November

As part of an estuary wide low tide count the following figures were recorded from the Beach & Bight: 161 Oystercatcher, 118 Brent Geese, 47 Wigeon, 12 Dunlin, eight Turnstone, six Curlew, five Redshank, two Knot, two Grey Plover and a Greenshank. Elsewhere two Water Rail and a Snipe were on the Main Pond.

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Sunday 27th November

The duck theme continued with three Pochard and a Tufted Duck in with the Common Scoter raft, with five Shoveler, eight Red-throated and four Great Northern Diver also offshore. Elsewhere two Slavonian Grebe and a Greenshank were in the estuary, two Raven were overhead and eight Chiffchaff, two Redwing and a Fieldfare were on site.

Saturday, 26 November 2016

Saturday 26th November

The first Scaup of the year, an immature female, was in the estuary during the morning before heading off site; other duck news was at sea with two Pochard amongst the 180 strong Common Scoter flock, two Velvet Scoter off the seawall before heading south, an Eider, six Gadwall and nine Pintail. Also offshore five Red-throated and four Great Northern Diver.

Counts from the estuary included three Lapwing, only the second record of the year, 1061 Oystercatcher, 1050 Dunlin, 133 Curlew, 60 Turnstone, 60 Redshank, 18 Bar-tailed Godwit, two Slavonian Grebe and single Greenshank, Snipe and Black-tailed Godwit. Elsewhere a Dartford Warbler was on Warren Point, five Chiffchaff and three Cirl Bunting were on site and a Fieldfare flew over.

Scaup - Alan Keatley

  Eider - Alan Keatley

Friday, 25 November 2016

Friday 25th November

Offshore a drake Pochard with the Common Scoter flock was unexpected with five Red-throated Diver also present. Elsewhere three Shoveler were on the Main Pond and counts from the estuary included 327 Dark-bellied and three Pale-bellied Brent Geese, 98 Grey Plover, 82 Shelduck, 59 Knot, 23 Sanderling, 12 Pintail, a Shoveler and, off Cockwood, a Slavonian Grebe.